The Duncan Estate was built by Major David R. Duncan in the 1890’s.
Major Duncan was a lawyer in Spartanburg, served as a trustee for both Wofford College and Converse College, and also served as a board member of Spartan Mills. He was elected to both the State Legislature and the State Senate, and served as the president of the Spartanburg-Asheville Railroad Company.
In 1874, Major Duncan purchased 300 acres of land off “Union Road”, and built his estate home shortly after. He lived in the home until his death in 1902, and his family remained in the home until 1937.
In 1923, the land surrounding the home was donated to the City of Spartanburg. In the deed, the Duncan family specified that eleven acres of land should remain public for all to enjoy – the land now known as Duncan Park. The surrounding land was subdivided and developed into the residential neighborhood of Duncan Park.
The original 4,581 square-foot Duncan Estate remains nestled on four acres, and now serves as a breathtaking venue for events and functions.